ERA-NET Cofund Smart Urban Futures (ENSUF) call for proposals

The Joint Urban Programming Initiative (JPI) Urban Europe invites proposals from the funding agencies for the ERA-NET Co-fund Smart Urban Futures (ENSUF), supported by the European Commission under the Horizon 2020 programme, aiming at creating attractive, sustainable and economically viable urban areas, in which European citizens, communities and their surrounding can thrive.

Programme activities include knowledge sharing, networking, programme seminars, dissemination of results and a central programme website.

Types of projects

Projects that focus on the following topics will be funded:

  • Concepts and strategies for smart urban transformation, growth and shrinkage;
  • New dynamics of public services;
  • Inclusive, vibrant and accessible urban communities.

Projects may be funded for a maximum of 3 years, and must start between December 2016 and March 2017.


A total amount of public funding of maximum 23.8 M€ will be provided by national and regional funding agencies from 18 European countries, including support from Horizon 2020. There are no fixed minimum or maximum limits for a project size.

Eligibility criteria

Each project proposal must be submitted by a project consortium consisting of at least three eligible applicants from at least three participating countries.

The following categories involved in development of European urban areas can join consortia:

  • Researchers
  • Practitioners
  • Innovators
  • Other stakeholders

Areas (e.g.): science, social sciences and humanities, SMEs or other businesses, NGOs, cities, social entrepreneurs etc.

Each of the applicants must have the interest and competence to undertake research, development or innovation within the specified topics. The different national rules of funding apply.

Partners from countries not officially participating in the call are welcome in a consortium but they need to fund their activities from other sources.

Eligible countries: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Finland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom.

How to apply

The application process has 2 stages:

  1. In the first stage, consortia are invited to submit pre-proposals. After the submission of the pre-proposals, approximately 50 pre-proposals will be selected.
  2. The successful consortia will then be invited to elaborate their ideas to full proposals.


The call for pre-proposals is open until 15 March 2016 (12:00 noon CET).

The call for full proposals will close on 20 September 2016 (12:00 noon CET).

For more information, please visit the ENSUF Call.