INTERREG VB North Sea Region funding

Funding is available for transnational cooperation projects that tackle joint challenges, pool expertise and build lasting links between businesses and institutions throughout the North Sea Region.

Contributions from the European Regional Development Fund per priority axis are as follows:

  • Priority 1 Thinking growth: Supporting growth in the North Sea Region economies – €46.83 million
  • Priority 2 Eco-innovation: Stimulating the green economy – €45.15 million
  • Priority 3 Sustainable North Sea Region: Protecting against climate change and preserving the environment – €36.79 million
  • Priority 4 Promoting green transport and mobility – €28.43 million

About the programme

The INTERREG North Sea Region Programme is one of a number of INTERREG programmes which are funded through the European Regional Development Fund. All of the programmes are based around eleven funding priorities identified for the European Regional Development Fund that aim to promote smart, sustainable and integrated growth in support of the Europe 2020 strategy.

The overall aim of the programme is to embed greater cooperation in working practices across the North Sea Region (NSR) as a way of tackling joint challenges, pooling expertise and building lasting links between businesses and institutions throughout the region.

The main areas of shared interest among the countries participating in the programme are:

  • Innovation support (knowledge transfer, product development etc)
  • Sustainable growth (energy, environment and climate change)
  • Maritime sector
  • Smart specialisation and clustering

Eligibility criteria

Applications are made by partnerships including two beneficiaries from two different eligible countries.

The following types of organisations can participate in the programme:

  • National, regional and local authorities and their agencies such as regional development agencies, industrial parks and incubators, regional environmental agencies etc
  • National and European interest organisations and institutes
  • Knowledge institutions – universities, colleges, research centres, technology centres, providers of professional training, schools, consultants, cluster managers etc
  • Enterprises – including social enterprises with a particular focus on small and medium sized enterprises
  • Civil society – associations, NGOs, charities, community organisations etc

Eligible countries: Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, UK.

Size of grant

The programme will fund 50% of the eligible expenditure. All beneficiaries must provide 50% co-financing from their own resources.

How to apply

There is a 2 Step application process:

  • Step 1: Expression of Interest – Project applicants may submit expressions of interest in the second call. It is also possible to re-submit expressions of interest that were rejected in call 1.
  • Step 2: Full Applications – Project applicants with an approved call 1 expression of interest may submit a full application in the second call. It is also possible to re-submit full applications that were rejected in call 1.


14 March 2016 at midnight.

For further details and to apply please go to The INTERREG North Sea Region website.